HiSET Passing Score

In the U.S., there are two exams available for the purpose of high school equivalency (HSE) testing: the GED and HiSET exams.

The HSE exam is a state-specific exam, and individual states decide about which option(s) they use. Some states use both options.

Online GED Classes

A simple and easy way of getting your GED diploma.

Learn fast, stay motivated, and pass your GED quickly.

The most widely used High School Equivalency exam is the GED® (General Education Development) exam, which has been around for almost eight decades, but a number of states opted for the HiSET® alternative or offer both options.

While the GED must be done entirely on a computer, is the HiSET (High School Equivalency Test) offered in both a paper-and-pencil version and on a computer.

In this post, we take a closer look at the minimally required score to pass the HiSET exam, qualification requirements, and retesting policies.

The HiSET exam is made up of five independent modules, or separate subtests, that cover the academic subject fields of

  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Mathematics
  • English Language Writing
  • and English Language Reading

HiSET Passing Score

The HiSET exam will, in total, take a little over 7.5 hours to complete, but the exam is modular, so you can take the subtests (independent modules) one at a time.

The five HiSET modules are scored on a scale that runs up to 20, and on each subtest, you must reach at least a score of 8.

Additionally, your cumulative score must be at least 45, and on your essay (part of the Writing subtest), you must come to at least a 2-score (out of 6).

If you have reached the HiSET passing scores, you will be awarded your state’s High School Equivalency Diploma (some states award a Certificate), which is all over North America accepted in the same way as a conventional high school degree.

All five subject tests contain 40 to 50 multiple-choice questions, and as part of the English Writing section, you also need to write your HiSET essay.

So if you didn’t attain the passing score on one subtest, there’s no need to take the entire exam again. You can just take the section that you failed. The HiSET is a rigorous exam that requires appropriate preparation.

So take advantage of this website’s free HiSET video lesson and practice tests to learn if this online learning format is right for you. Our free help does, however, not cover all facets and subject matter of the HiSET or GED exam.

If our approach suits you well, you can register for Onsego GED Online Prep, an accredited, comprehensive GED and HiSET prep course, and get optimally ready for the exam fast and efficiently and optimize your score!

Who Qualifies?

Well, the HiSET is a state-specific exam, and regulations may vary slightly by state. In general, however, we can say that adult learners qualify for the HiSET exam if they don’t already have a high school degree, are not registered for some other education program, and are at least 16 years of age. You can learn more about GED and HiSET age requirements in your state here.

For 16 and 17-year-olds, there will be some pretty strict additional requirements. They must, in general, be officially withdrawn from school, have written parental consent, and also submit written permission to take the exam signed by their school districts.

Some states require HiSET test-takers to first show proof of completing an adult education program or attaining satisfactory results on the HiSET OPT (Official Practice Test). If you take the HiSET exam online, the “HiSET-At-Home” test, you must attain sufficient results on the OPT first.

There are states that offer the HiSET exam exclusively to state residents. Many states subsidize high school equivalency testing, so it makes sense that HiSET test-takers need to be state residents. Check here for states that offer the HiSET exam.

Through the HiSET exam, states offer one more chance to individuals who never completed high school to secure an education credential that is of the same legal value as a regular high school degree and accepted as such across the country.

Retake Policies

If you fail one of the HiSET subtests, you can take that section again. You cannot take that subject test more than three times within one calendar year, and that includes the actual test and two retakes.

You can retake a subject test twice within one year after you initially registered for that section at no charge, except for possible test center fees! After one year, the original fees will apply again. So make sure if you need to retake a subtest, get optimally prepared before scheduling a new appointment!

As said, there are no ETS (the HiSET publisher) fees for retaking a subject test, but it has to be the same format as your initial test, and you’ll have to complete the retests within 12 months, or the regular fees apply again.

All states and jurisdictions have their own retesting policies. In some states, for example, there is a waiting period before you’re allowed to take a test again, and there may, again, also be additional test center fees.

Rescheduling a Test Appointment

In case you can’t make it to your HiSET test appointment, you have the option to reschedule that appointment. You can reschedule the testing date and time, but also the test center. Let’s look at the rules you should follow not to lose your paid testing fees or pay extra fees.

  • You can cancel and reschedule your appointment ultimately the day before your testing appointment.
  • Your new testing day needs to be less than a year from your initial registration. You have up to 12 months to do so.
  • You can only retake the subtest in the same format as you registered. It is not possible to switch between paper-based and computer-based test formats for free. If you would like to change the testing format, you must cancel your test appointment and buy a new test.

Last Updated on February 14, 2024.